What Can We Learn From The ‘Stranger Things’ Season 2 Episode Titles?

The first bit of new information we got about Stranger Things season two came in September 2016, when a mysterious teaser video revealing the following Mel Gibson- and frog-inspired episode titles: “Madmax, The Boy Who Came Back To Life, The Pumpkin Patch, The Palace, The Storm, The Pollywog, The Secret Cabin, The Brain, and The Lost Brother.” The teaser was so mysterious, in fact, that all of the titles have since been changed.

“Netflix had another teaser, but it was about going back to stuff that had happened already,” co-creator Matt Duffer explained. “I thought it wasn’t exciting enough, and we wanted to provide some hint of where we were going in season two without giving anything away. I do think some of the titles will change. There were titles we didn’t want to put on there because we felt like it would give too much away.” Now that season two is less than three weeks away, Matt and his brother Ross feel comfortable revealing the real titles.


Chapter 1: Madmax
Chapter 2: Trick or Treat Freak
Chapter 3: The Pollywog
Chapter 4: Will the Wise
Chapter 5: Dig Dug
Chapter 6: The Spy
Chapter 7, 8, and 9: N/A

Episodes seven, eight, and nine are still unknown; instead, we get this.

The episode titles offer a few clues for the season. The premiere will likely focus on Max, a new (female) friend of Mike, Lucas, Dustin and Will’s; “Trick or Treat Freak” should continue the heavy Halloween theme in the teasers and hidden clips; Dustin will reportedly bond with a “little creature” that EW describes as the titular pollywog; “Will the Wise” is paired with an image of the horrifying monster from the Super Bowl trailer; “Dig Dug” is the name of a popular video game at the time, and a nod to Chief Hopper searching for… something; and “The Spy” must be an Austin Powers reference. As for the final three, well, that blue hand looks like it’s attached to a White Walker, so expect a Game of Thrones crossover. I’m sure Netflix and HBO are down for that.