Listen: Coldplay debuts new single ‘Paradise,’ reveals Rihanna collaboration

09.12.11 6 years ago

Katie Hasty

Coldplay have revealed two new details of their new, forthcoming album “Mylo Xyloto,” both with pop implications of the highest order.

In a release, the British band said simply that the song “Princess of China” will feature vocals from Rihanna. To the Sun, Martin said this in approaching the pop superstar: “The album is designed as a whole piece. It has boy and girl lead characters and top of our list for the girl part was Rihanna, but it took a while to pluck up the courage to ask her. We did a show in Las Vegas and I met her and said, ‘Do you think there”s any chance?” I was very Hugh Grant-like and spluttering about it.”

Further on the pop tip, the band has premiered its new single, to follow-up “Every Teardrop Is a Waterfall.” And “Paradise” even makes mention of that song.

I find the electronic clap track unnervingly cheap as an arena-rock device, but if Coldplay’s design was to make a song that gets butts up out of the seats, they’ve got it. “Paradise” teases its echoing refrain, holds back until absolutely necessary, then and explosion of an impressively simple writing. It beats the hell out of the verses, which Martin clearly over-thought.

“Paradise” comes free to those who pre-order the album through iTunes, up today.

Coldplay has previously released their tracklist to “Mylo Xyloto,” also below, and have four dates on slate, three of which are in the U.S. after a Lollapalooza stop-off earlier this summer.

“Mylo Xyloto” is out on a Monday, Oct. 24, and is among one of HitFix top picks for new fall releases.

Here are Coldplay’s tour dates:

9/16     Austin, TX               Austin City Limits Festival
9/23     Las Vegas, NV             iHeart Radio Music Festival
9/24     Atlanta, GA              Music Midtown
10/1     Rio de Janeiro, Brazil    Rock In Rio

Here is the tracklist to “Mylo Xyloto”:

1. Mylo Xyloto
2. Hurts Like Heaven
3. Paradise
4. Charlie Brown
5. Us Against The World
6. M.M.I.X.
7. Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall
8. Major Minus
9. U.F.O.
10. Princess of China
11. Up In Flames
12. A Hopeful Transmission
13. Don’t Let It Break Your Heart
14. Up With The Birds

Around The Web