Jose Calderon Thinks Spain Would Have Won Under FIBA Rules

08.27.08 9 years ago 65 Comments

“This is not the time to speak of officiating,” says Jose Calderon, “but I think with the FIBA rules we would have won. That is why we are a little annoyed, because we were right there at the finish line and we have just missed out.”

There are a couple of issues with Calderon’s monster asterisk. First, weren’t they playing under FIBA rules? In 2010, FIBA is changing the dimensions of the international court so that they’re basically the same as the NBA’s. But during the Beijing Games, the rules were virtually the exact same as they’ve been for years.

So, to what rule changes exactly is Calderon referring? There have been no specific rule changes that came into effect prior to the Olympics per se, however there has been a perceived difference in the way the rules have been interpreted by referees, in the eyes of many observers. These differences mainly centre around travelling violations, charge/block calls, carrying violations and continuation on shooting fouls.

And now that Calderon flew off the cuff about Spain winning gold if some ambiguous rule changes were or weren’t made, how do you think he’s going to be received in the NBA community? Before saying anything, he would have definitely gotten respect from Team USA for being part of a Spanish team that gave them a real test. But now?

Source: A Stern Warning

Around The Web