Indiana Film Journalists Association goes its own way, crowns ‘Safety Not Guaranteed’

Well if you were looking for someone, anyone, to just go the least bit against the grain, the Indiana Film Journalists Association is here to save the day. After announcing nominees last week, the group has handed Best Picture honors to Colin Trevorrow’s “Safety Not Guaranteed,” making it just one more film to win such honors in a year that is spreading the love quite a bit. Check out the full list of winners below and keep track of the season via The Circuit.

Best Film
“Safety Not Guaranteed” (Runner-up: “Beasts of the Southern Wild”)

Best Director
Quentin Tarantino, “Django Unchained” (Runner-up: Kathryn Bigelow, “Zero Dark Thirty”)

Best Actor
(TIE) Bradley Cooper, “Silver Linings Playbook” and Daniel Day-Lewis, “Lincoln”

Best Actress
Jessica Chastain, “Zero Dark Thirty” (Runner-up: Jennifer Lawrence, “Silver Linings Playbook”)

Best Supporting Actor
Tommy Lee Jones, “Lincoln” (Runner-up: Christoph Waltz, “Django Unchained”)

Best Supporting Actress
Anne Hathaway, “Les Misérables” (Runner-up: Helen Hunt, “The Sessions”)

Best Adapted Screenplay
“The Perks of Being a Wallflower” (Runner-up: “Silver Linings Playbook”)

Best Original Screenplay
“Safety Not Guaranteed” (Runner-up: “Django Unchained”)

Best Musical Score
“Skyfall” (Runner-up: “Life of Pi”)

Best Animated Feature
“Rise of the Guardians” (Runner-up: “ParaNorman”)

Best Foreign Language Film
“The Raid: Redemption” (Runner-up: “Amour”)

Best Documentary
“Searching for Sugar Man” (Runner-up: “Room 237”)

Original Vision Award
“Beasts of the Southern Wild” (Runner-up: “Django Unchained”)

The Hoosier Award
Jon Vickers, Founding Director of Indiana University Cinema