Netflix announces ‘Black Mirror’ release date, renewals, pick ups and more

07.27.16 3 years ago

Release dates, renewals and green lights. Oh my.

Netflix announced no shortage of news at the Television Critics Association summer press
tour. Perhaps the most exciting information is that the Twilight Zone-style anthology series Black Mirror will be released on the streaming service on October 21. The third season of the show will feature six episodes and star such celebs as Bryce Dallas Howard and Malachi Kirby of Roots fame.

The company also revealed the release dates for its original series Chef”s Table: France, Easy, The Ranch (Part 2 of Season 1), Lovesick, Beat Bugs, Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life, Captive and the reimagined One Day at a Time. The full list of those dates is below.

Netflix also announced a number of renewals and new series. Clearly content with the performance of her talk show, Chelsea Handler”s Chelsea got picked up for another 90 episodes for 2017. They also picked up Maria Bamford”s Lady Dynamite for a second season as well as Real Rob, with SNL alum Rob Schneider. For the kids, Netflix announced what”s now called the Untitled Motown Project. The musically-themed series “revolves around a lovable, funny and slightly shy eight year old boy named Ben, who discovers he has the extraordinary ability to bring street-art to life.”

Following is the full release schedule:

September 2
Chef”s Table: France

September 22

October 7
The Ranch (Season 1, Part 2)

October 21
Black Mirror

November 17

November 18
Beat Bugs

November 25
Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life

December 9

January 6
One Day at a Time

Chelsea (Season 2)
Lady Dynamite (Season 2)
Real Rob (Season 2)

Around The Web