‘RuPaul’s Drag Race’ returns for season 5 with 14 new contestants

11.19.12 6 years ago
RuPaul and Logo today announced the names of the 14 lucky contestants who will vie for a $100,000 cash prize, the crown and the coveted title of America’s Next Drag Superstar on “RuPaul”s Drag Race.” The show returns to Logo for a fifth season in January 2013.
“As we start our fifth season, I’m thrilled to announce that Britney Spears, Demi Lovato, Mariah Carey, Nikki Minaj and Keith Urban will not be joining us as full time judges,” said Executive Producer (and celebrity judge) RuPaul.  “Don’t get me wrong. I love them all.  But we’re gonna keep it all hood up in here.  Because that’s what makes ‘RuPaul’s Drag Race” the best damn show on TV.”
The following are the 14 season five contestants. Follow them on Twitter as you wish.
Pittsburgh, PA
Alyssa Edwards
Mesquite, TX
Coco Montrese
Las Vegas, NV
Los Angeles, CA
Honey Mahogany
San Francisco, CA
Ivy Winters
New York, NY
Jade Jolie
Gainesville, FL
Jinkx Monsoon
Seattle, WA
Lineysha Sparx
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Monica Beverly Hillz
Owensboro, KY
Penny Tration
Cincinnati, OH
Roxxxy Andrews
Orlando, FL
Serena ChaCha
Tallahassee, FL
Vivienne Pinay
New York, NY
RuPaul is back for a fifth season alongside judges Michelle Visage and Santino Rice, to decide who will “shante! stay!” or “sashay away” with a new batch of glamorous drag queens. In the end, only one contestant will have what it takes to win the title and a prize package that includes a supply of Colorevolution cosmetics, a one-of-a-kind trip courtesy of AlandChuck.travel and a headlining spot on Logo’s Drag Race Tour featuring Absolut vodka and a cash prize of $100,000. 

Around The Web