Jeff Goldblum Details His Improvisational And Fun New Album, ‘The Capitol Studios Sessions’

Getty Image

Jeff Goldblum is best known as an actor and famous charming guy, but all this time, he’s been pretty musical, too. He’s played piano since he was a kid, has performed multiple times over the years, and now he’s ready to finally put out his debut album: Joined by his long-time band The Mildred Snitzer Orchestra, he will be releasing The Capitol Studios Sessions on November 9 via Decca. He shared a couple of recordings from the album — “My Baby Just Cares For Me” and “Cantaloupe Island” — both of which show off a loose and fun vibe that’s characteristically Goldblum, as well as some legitimate musical chops from he and his band.

The group has a weekly variety show at LA’s Rockwell Table And Stage, and the record aims to capture the energy of those performances. The album was recorded in front of a live studio audience, and features Sarah Silverman, Grammy-winning trumpeter Till Bronner, former American Idol contestant Haley Reinhart, and Irish singer Imelda May. Goldblum says of the album, “I love improvising and that feeling of communication and interplay. It’s one of the cornerstones of my acting technique. I see my music in the same way.”

Listen to “My Baby Just Cares For Me” and “Cantaloupe Island” above. Check out the album art for the CD and vinyl editions of The Capitol Studios Sessions below, as well as the tracklist and Goldblum’s upcoming tour dates.


1. “Cantaloupe Island”
2. “Don’t Mess With Mister T (feat. Till Bronner)”
3. “My Baby Just Cares For Me (feat. Haley Reinhart)”
4. “Straighten Up And Fly Right (feat. Imelda May & Till Bronner)”
5. “Jeff Introduces Sarah Silverman (feat. Sarah Silverman)”
6. “Me And My Shadow (feat. Sarah Silverman & Till Bronner)”
7. “Nostalgia In Times Square”
8. “It Never Entered My Mind (feat. Till Bronner)”
9. “Gee Baby (Aint I Good To You) (feat. Haley Reinhart)”
10. “I Wish I Knew (How It Could Feel To Be Free)”
11. “This Bitter Earth (feat. Imelda May & Till Bronner)”
12. “Come On-A-My House (feat. Imelda May & Till Bronner)”
13. “Caravan (feat. Till Bronner)”
14. “Good Nights”

10/13-14 — Los Angeles, CA @ David Lynch’s Festival of Disruption Los Angeles
11/17 — London, UK @ Cadogan Hall
11/18 — Paris, FR @ Le Trianon
11/21 — Berlin, BE @ Admiralspalast
11/22 — London, UK @ Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club (two shows)

The Capitol Studio Sessions is out 11/9 via Decca. Pre-order it here.