Flight Of The Conchords return with new set ‘I Told You I Was Freaky’

07.27.09 8 years ago

Sub Pop

The second season of “Flight Of The Conchords” may have just wrapped up, but fans can continue to celebrate the comedic and musical stylings of Jermaine and Bret in “I Told You I Was Freaky.”

The album, due Oct. 20 via Sub Pop, contains most of the ridiculous, brain-damaged and hilarious tracks from the HBO television show. This includes personal favorite “Sugalumps”: the track serves as a response to “My Humps” but could have also easily been stuck as a B-Side to Beck’s 1999 hotness “Midnite Vultures.”

“We’re Both In Love With A Sexy Lady” may offend the lazy-eyed among us, while dub-step “You Don’t Have To Be A Prostitute” has a rhyming scheme perfect for an ep of “Sesame Street” except for the gigolo thing.

The New Zealand duo — Bret McKenzie and Jemaine Clement — won a Best Comedy Album Grammy for their 2007 debut “The Distant Future.” And judging from Sub Pop’s previous successes in album art and presentation, buying the actual CD itself wouldn’t be such a bad move, unless you hate babies, commerce and America.

  1. Hurt Feelings
  2. Sugalumps
  3. We’re Both in Love with a Sexy Lady
  4. I Told You I Was Freaky
  5. Demon Woman
  6. Rambling Through the Avenues of Time
  7. Fashion Is Danger
  8. Petrov, Yelyena and Me
  9. Too Many Dicks (On the Dance Floor)
  10. You Don’t Have to Be a Prostitute
  11. Friends
  12. Carol Brown
  13. Angels

Around The Web