All The Best New Indie Music From This Week

Indie music has grown to include so much. It’s not just music that is released on independent labels, but speaks to an aesthetic that deviates from the norm and follows its own weirdo heart. It can come in the form of rock music, pop, or folk. In a sense, it says as much about the people that are drawn to it as it does about the people that make it.

Every week, Uproxx is rounding up the best new indie music from the past seven days. This week we got new music by Kurt Vile, Phoebe Bridgers, Faye Webster, and more.

While we’re at it, sign up for our newsletter to get the best new indie music delivered directly to your inbox, every Monday.

The best new indie music directly to your inbox.
Sign up for the Indie Mixtape newsletter for weekly recommendations and the latest indie news.
By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about Indie Mixtape based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing

Kurt Vile — Watch My Moves

It’s been four years since Kurt Vile last released an album, which is pretty unusual seeing the former War On Drugs guitarist typically drops a new project every year or two. But with his latest LP Watch My Moves, Vile shows it was worth the wait. The sprawling album is packed with laid-back tunes and meandering melodies. “I think my records are always enough of something new in my evolution,” Vile told Uproxx in a recent interview. “I’ve always got new things to say.”

Alex G — We’re All Going To The World’s Fair

Alex G just dropped his first new collection of songs since his 2019 album House Of Sugar. The singer’s project is the soundtrack to the upcoming film We’re All Going To The World’s Fair, and as such, it’s not your typical Alex G album. For one, the album is almost entirely instrumental besides the album closer “End Song.” Some songs like “Stitch” feature jarring ambient chords while others like “Are You In Trouble” sound more like the rest of Alex G’s tender catalog.

Prince Daddy & The Hyena — Prince Daddy & The Hyena

Albany, NY-based four-piece Prince Daddy & The Hyena has quickly emerged as one of modern emo’s buzziest bands, and their new self-titled album shows why. The 13-track LP moves between relentlessly ripping tracks and passionate power ballads, drawing inspiration from vocalist Kory Gregory’s fear of death, which was worsened by a scary car accident in 2018. “I think the record as a whole, as a journey, feels bittersweet and hopeful in a way,” Gregory said about the self-titled effort.

Phoebe Bridgers — “Sidelines”

Ahead of her captivating Coachella performance last weekend, Phoebe Bridgers returned with the brand new track “Sidelines.” News of the new song promptly crashed her website thanks to excited fans, but the wistful single doesn’t point to an upcoming project anytime soon. Rather, “Sidelines” was written for the upcoming adaptation of Sally Rooney’s Conversations With Friends (she’s been a longtime fan of the author) and features Bridgers’ earnest reflections on mortality and emotional vulnerability.

Faye Webster — “Car Therapy”

Atlanta indie songwriter Faye Webster announced the new project Car Therapy Sessions, an EP of new and reimagined songs backed by a full orchestra. It’s lead single “Car Therapy” displays Webster’s versatile songwriting, transforming a contemplative ballad into a nostalgia-inducing and cinematic masterpiece.

Built To Spill — “Gonna Lose”

After several successful decades as a band, Built To Spill announced their eighth studio album and Sub Pop debut, When The Wind Forgets Your Name. The album isn’t out until September, but they’re keeping fans excited for the release with the new track “Gonna Lose,” a frenetic tune that combines catchy refrains with feverish guitar riffs.

Saya Gray — “Saving Grace”

Musician Saya Gray has positioned herself as one to watch with a pair of previously released singles. Now offering another look at her upcoming debut album 19 Masters, Gray drops the captivating track “Saving Grace,” a song that features intricate chords and Gray’s soulful vocals for an overall soothing single.

Bruce Lee Band — “I Hate This!”

Bruce Lee Band first made a name for themselves with witty ska-punk hits on their 1994 debut. Decades later, Bruce Lee Band are still kicking and a year after their EP Division In The Heartland, the group is back to preview the upcoming LP One Step Forward, Two Steps Back. The new track “I Hate This!” gives a taste of the raucous week-long session that the album was recorded in, featuring propulsive refrains and catchy lyrics over impressively fast-paced beats.

The Walters — “Million Little Problems”

Indie-pop band The Walters are making their Warner Records debut with Try Again, an album that marks a new direction for the LA-by-way-of-Chicago band. The lead single “Million Little Problems” shows what made fans initially fall in love with The Walters’ platinum-selling track “I Love You So,” boasting playful melodies and dreamy guitars.

Tomberlin — “Sunstruck”

Tomberlin is just over a week away from the release of her sophomore album I Don’t Know Who Needs To Hear This…, sharing one last look at the album with the serene and confident new song “Sunstruck.” Tomberlin explained the song holds similarities to a love song, but isn’t exactly a love song. “It is more a love song to forced distance, time alone with yourself, letting go, searching for yourself and the healing that takes place when you make those things an active focus in your life.”

Wild Pink — “Q. Degraw”

A year after Wild Pink’s most-acclaimed album A Billion Little Lights, the band is back with another captivating track, “Q. Degraw.” The pastoral track includes heavily distorted guitars and lyrics that mirror the warped instrumentals. “This song is about my experiences with some health problems and how an extremely stressful situation can sharpen your focus on what’s important in life,” vocalist John Ross said. “It’s also about how that stress can sometimes cause you to dissociate from yourself.”

Mt. Joy — “Orange Blood”

Five-piece indie group Mt. Joy announce their third studio album with the carefree title track “Orange Blood.” The impassioned song was inspired by a transformative trip the band took to Joshua Tree, which is reflected in the single’s sunny chords and airy melodies.

Some of the artists covered here are Warner Music artists. Uproxx is an independent subsidiary of Warner Music Group.