‘Call Me By Your Name’ And ‘Get Out’ Walk Away On Top At The 2017 Gotham Awards

Awards season is officially underway thanks to The Independent Filmmaker Project’s 27th Annual Gotham Awards, giving some of the biggest indies of 2017 a chance to shine. Get Out and Call Me By Your Name were the big winners on the night. Jordan Peele’s horror debut walked away with three awards, including Best Screenplay and Breakthrough Director. But it was Luca Guadagnino’s closing chapter in his “Desire” trilogy that won Best Feature, with young star Timothée Chalamet winning Breakthrough Actor for the film. He then used his acceptance speech to thank nearly everybody, including Lady Bird director Greta Gerwig, Al Pacino, and current rap queen Cardi B.

Saorise Ronan won Best Actress for her energetic turn in Lady Bird and James Franco shocked with his win for Best Actor as Tommy Wiseau in The Disaster Artist. Meanwhile, the Special Jury Award For Ensemble Performance went to the cast of Mudbound, currently wowing viewers on Netflix. We also can’t overlook the fact that Atlanta added to its awards total for 2017, cementing Donald Glover’s star status for when season two premieres in 2018.

The IFP also handed Gotham Award Tributes to Nicole Kidman, Dustin Hoffman, Sofia Coppola, Jason Blum, and Ed Lachman for their impressive careers. The Gotham Humanitarian Tribute went to former vice president and current climate activist Al Gore. You can check out the full rundown of nominees and winners below:

Best Feature

Call Me by Your Name
The Florida Project
Get Out
Good Time
I, Tonya

Best Documentary

Strong Island
Ex Libris – The New York Public Library
Rat Film
Whose Streets?
The Work

Audience Award

Get Out

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Jordan Peele, Get Out
Maggie Betts, Novitiate
Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird
Kogonada, Columbus
Joshua Z Weinstein, Menashe

Best Screenplay

Get Out, Jordan Peele
The Big Sick, Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani
Brad’s Status, Mike White
Call Me by Your Name, James Ivory
Columbus, Kogonada
Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig

Best Actor

James Franco, The Disaster Artist
Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project
Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out
Robert Pattinson, Good Time
Harry Dean Stanton, Lucky
Adam Sandler, The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)

Best Actress

Saorise Ronan, Lady Bird
Haley Lu Richardson, Columbus
Melanie Lynskey, I Don’t Feel at Home in This World Anymore
Margot Robbie, I, Tonya
Lois Smith, Marjorie Prime

Special Jury Award For Ensemble Performance

Mudbound (Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Clarke, Jason Mitchell, Mary J. Blige, Rob Morgan, and Jonathan Banks)

Made in NY Honoree

Michael K. Williams

Breakthrough Actor

Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name
Mary J. Blige, Mudbound
Harris Dickinson, Beach Rats
Kelvin Harrison, Jr., It Comes at Night
Brooklynn Prince, The Florida Project

Breakthrough Series – Long Form

Better Things
Dear White People
Search Party

Breakthrough Series – Short Form

The Strange Eyes of Dr. Myes
Let Me Die a Nun

(Via Deadline)