Childish Gambino Returns With ‘Me And Your Mama’ Off New Album ‘Awaken, My Love!’

Shortly after confirming his 3rd full-length as Childish Gambino was indeed on the way, Donald Glover shared the first taste of Awaken, My Love! on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 Radio show.

“Me and Your Mama” is an interesting hodge-podge of ’70s soul choirs, twinkling pianos and G-Funk-indebted theremins that gives way to shouted psychedelic freakout. The funky and strange preview is already several notches better than anything that was on Because The Internet, and looks to be one more example of Glover’s astounding 2016 hot streak. It’s amazing that he’s been able to create a song that sounds this lush while juggling his critically acclaimed FX show Atlanta and gearing up to play young Lando Calrissian in upcoming Star Wars movies (and that’s before we even get into the whole Spiderman thing). It’s even more impressive when you consider that he has a whole ‘nother album — remember Pharos? — stashed away somewhere. But he did it, and we’re glad for it, because “Mama” is too nice. Check out the track up top via Spotify and tell us you aren’t excited.

Gambino revealed the album artwork late last night on Twitter and confirmed this morning that the new album would be out December 2nd via Glassnote. He shared the Awaken, My Love! tracklist shortly after dropping “Mama.” Check that out below:

1. “Me and Your Mama”
2. “Have Some Love”
3. “Boogieman”
4. “Zombies”
5. “Riot”
6. “Redbone”
7. “California”
8. “Terrified”
9. “Baby Boy”
10. “The Night Me and Your Mama Met”
11. “Stand Tall”