Green Day Return For The First Time In Four Years With The Politically Charged ‘Bang Bang’

In 2012, Green Day released three pretty good albums (that could have been one really good album) in a three-month span, but nothing since. The break wasn’t intentional, singer Billie Joe Armstrong told Rolling Stone in a new interview, “the time just ended up happening.” Armstrong, bassist Mike Dirnt, and drummer Tré Cool are in their 40s. They have families to look after, awards to accept, records to make with Norah Jones. They were young with optimistic points of view; now they’re sh*tty old men, and they’re pissed.

The pop-punk legends announced a new album today, Revolution Radio, that was inspired the protests following the grand jury’s decision to not indict police officer Darren Wilson for killing 18-year-old Michael Brown. “I got out of my car and marched with the people,” Armstrong said. “It was a trip to see people rebel against the old order.” Revolution Radio is more American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown than Dookie and Warning, especially first single, “Bang Bang,” which Armstrong describes as being “about the culture of mass shooting that happens in America mixed with narcissistic social media. There’s this sort of rage happening, but it’s also now being filmed and we all have ourselves under surveillance. To me, that is so twisted. To get into the brain of someone like that was freaky. It freaked me out. After I wrote it, all I wanted to do was get that out of my brain because it just freaked me out.”

Revolution Radio comes out Oct. 7. Here’s the tracklist.

1. Somewhere Now
2. Bang Bang
3. Revolution Radio
4. Say Goodbye
5. Outlaws
6. Bouncing Off the Wall
7. Still Breathing
8. Youngblood
9. Too Dumb to Die
10. Troubled Times
11. Forever Now
12. Ordinary World

Who knew Green Day were such big Patrick Swayze fans?