Jorja Smith’s Snappy Single ‘Gone’ Announces Her Project ‘Be Right Back’

Fans have been waiting to her details about a new project from Jorja Smith ever since the UK singer captivated audiences with soothing vocals on her 2018 debut album Lost & Found. With the release of her recent single “Addicted,” it seemed as though Smith was gearing up for something exciting and on Monday, the singer officially returned with a big announcement.

Smith shared the snappy single “Gone” on Monday, which arrived alongside the announcement of her forthcoming eight-track project Be Right Back. About the song “Gone,” Smith says she hopes her listeners can derive their own meaning from her lyrics, adding that she wrote the track about tragedy:

“There’s something about being able to write about one thing and for it to mean so many different things to others. I love that this song, well any of my songs really, will be interpreted in different ways, depending on the experiences of the people listening. This one is just me asking why people have to be taken from us.”

About the album as a whole, Smith says, “It’s called Be Right Back because it’s just something I want my fans to have right now, this isn’t an album and these songs wouldn’t have made it. If I needed to make these songs, then someone needs to hear them too.”

Listen to Smith’s “Gone” above and see the Be Right Back album cover art and tracklist below.

FAMM Records

1. “Addicted”
2. “Gone”
3. “Bussdown” Feat. Shaybo
4. “Time”
5. “Home”
6. “Burn”
7. “Digging”
8. “Weekend”

Be Right Back is out 5/14 via FAMM. Pre-order it here.