Complete ‘New Moon’ tracklist revealed: OK Go, Lykke Li join Yorke, Muse and The Killers

09.21.09 8 years ago 2 Comments

Chop Shop/Atlantic

After months of speculation and inquiry, the tracklist for the “Twilight Saga: New Moon” soundtrack has been revealed. The newly announced artists to make the cut are Swedish songwriter Lykke Li, psych rockers Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Chicago rock troupe OK Go, Sea Wolf, Editors, the film’s score composer Alexandre Desplat, Hurricane Bells and Anya Marina. Previously announced and quasi-confirmed artists included are Death Cab For Cutie, Thom Yorke, Band of Skulls, Grizzly Bear, Muse and The Killers, while Bon Iver’s contribution is a collaboration with St. Vincent.

The soundtrack will be released Oct. 20, one month in advance of the Nov. 20 release of the “New Moon” film. Each contribution is a previously unreleased track, some of which were written specifically for the film. “Some of the artists created the songs after being shown footage from the movie to use as a guide,” read the release from MySpace.

Click here to pre-order the soundtrack.

As previously reported, Death Cab for Cutie penned the album’s first single “Meet Me on the Equinox”; “New Moon” director Chris Weitz revealed to HitFix exclusively that Bon Iver and Thom Yorke were confirmed as on-board.

The film stars Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner.

As love and interest has grown for the Twilight series over the last couple of years, the anticipation for this album has skyrocketed. Labels and artists have been vying for a spot on the tracklist, considering that the soundtrack to last year’s first “Twilight” film has gone on to sell more than 2.2 million copies, according to Nielsen SoundScan. It got subsequent sales bumps from the DVD release of the movie and artists like Paramore and Muse found themselves with far bigger fanbases in consequence.

Of compilation and soundtrack releases, too, the “Twilight” and “New Moon” sets are somewhat groundbreaking. Particularly with this sequel set, headed by music supervisor and friend-to-the-indies Alexandra Patsavas, independent artists are getting a chance in the spotlight. Many of the tracks were culled rom acts on independent labels like Jagjaguwar (Bon Iver), Warp (Grizzly Bear) and Dangerbird (Sea Wolf).

The album is being released on Patsavas’ Chop Shop label and through Atlantic.

Perhaps taking advantage of the news day, Thom Yorke also released his 12″ single “FeelingPulledApartByHorses”/”The Hollow Earth” today. Listen to both here.

Here is the complete tracklist for the “Twilight Saga: New Moon” soundtrack:

1. Death Cab For Cutie – Meet Me On The Equinox
2. Band Of Skulls – Friends 
3. Thom Yorke- Hering Damage
4. Lykke Li – Possibility
5. The Killers – A White Demon Love Song
6. Anya Marina – Satellite Heart
7. Muse – I Belong To You (New Moon)
8. Bon Iver and St. Vincent – Rosyln
9. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club – Done All Wrong
10. Hurricane Bells – Monsters
11. Sea Wolf – The Violet Hour
12. Ok Go- Shooting The Moon
13. Grizzly Bear – Slow Life
14. Editors – No Sound But The Wind
15. Alexandre Desplat – New Moon (The Meadow)

Around The Web