Writer’s Guild salutes “Milk,” “Slumdog Millionaire” and “30 Rock.”

02.08.09 9 years ago

Focus Features

The Writer’s Guild of America announced this year’s WGA Award recipients in simultaneous ceremonies in New York and Los Angeles tonight. 

“Milk’s” Dustin Lance Black was the big winner in the original screenplay category, but he still faces a tough challenge in the ecquivilant Oscar category where “WALL-E” is eligible for nomination.  Simon Beaufoy won the adapted screenplay award for “Slumdog Millionaire” and it would be a surprise if the former Academy Award nominee for “The Full Monty” doesn’t repeat his win for “Slumdong” on Oscar Sunday.  “Waltz with Bashir” won the documentary writing category and it seems likely the animated film will walk away with the Best Documentary Award at the Oscars as well.

On the Television side, “30 Rock,” “Mad Men,” “In Treatment,” “Saturday Night Live,” “Recount” and “John Adams” swept their categories as expected.  The only surprise of the night would have to be the amazing upset “Polar Bears” (The Naked Brothers Band) pulled winning the WGA Award for Children’s Script – Long Form or Special.  It went up against a competitive field that only included…itself. 

The complete list of winners are listed below.

Original Screenplay – Film
“Milk,” written by Dustin Lance Black
Adapted Screenplay – Film
“Slumdog Millionaire,” screenplay by Simon Beaufoy, (based on the Novel “Q and A” by Vikas Swarup)
Documentary Screenplay – Film
“Waltz with Bashir,” written by Ari Folman
Dramatic Series – Television
“Mad Men,” written by Lisa Albert, Jane Anderson, Rick Cleveland, Kater Gordon, David Isaacs, Andre Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton, Marti Noxon, Robin Veith and Matthew Weiner
Comedy Series – Television
“30 Rock,” written by Jack Burditt, Kay Cannon, Robert Carlock, Tina Fey, Donald Glover, Andrew Guest, Matt Hubbard, Jon Pollack, John Riggi, Tami Sagher and Ron Weiner
New Series – Television
“In Treatment,” written by Rodrigo Garcia, Bryan Goluboff, Davey Holmes, William Merritt Johnson, Amy Lippman and Sarah Treem
Episodic Drama – any length – one airing time – Television
“Pilot” (“Breaking Bad”), written by Vince Gilligan
Episodic Comedy – any length – one airing time – Television
“Succession” (“30 Rock”), written by Andrew Guest and John Riggi
Long Form – Original – Television
“Recount,” written by Danny Strong
Long Form – Adaptation – over one hour – Television
“John Adams,” “Episode 1, Join or Die,” teleplay by Kirk Ellis, HBO (based on the book by David McCullough); “Episode 2, Independence,” teleplay by Kirk Ellis, HBO (based on the book by David McCullough)
Animation – Television
“Apocalypse Cow” (“The Simpsons”), written by Jeff Westbrook
Comedy/Variety Series – Television
Saturday Night Live,” head writers Seth Meyers, Andrew Steele an Paula Pell, writers Doug Abeles, James Anderson, Alex Baze, Jessica Conrad, James Downey, Charlie Grandy, Steve Higgins, Colin Jost, Erik Kenward, Rob Klein, John Lutz, Seth Meyers, Lorne Michaels, John Mulaney, Paula Pell, Simon Rich, Marika Sawyer, Akiva Schaffer, Robert Smigel, John Solomon, Emily Spivey, Andrew Steele, Kent Sublette, Jorma Taccone and Bryan Tucker, Additional Sketches by Robert Carlock
Comedy/Variety Specials – Television
2008 Film Independent Spirit Awards, Written by Billy Kimball, Aaron Lee, Jennifer Celotta and Rainn Wilson
Daytime Serials – Television
“As the World Turns,” written by Jean Passanante, Leah Laiman, Courtney Simon, Lisa Connor, David A. Levinson, Peter Brash, Richard Culliton, Susan Dansby, Cheryl Davis and Leslie Nipkow
Children’s Episodic & Specials – Television
“Elmo’s Christmas Countdown” (“Sesame Workshop”), Written by Joey Mazzarino
Children’s Script – Long Form or Special – Television
“Polar Bears” (“The Naked Brothers Band”), Written by Polly Draper
Documentary – Current Events – Television
“Bush’s War: Part One” (“Frontline”), Written by Michael Kirk
Documentary – Non-Current Events – Television
“Secrets of the Parthenon” (“NOVA”), Written by Gary Glassman
News – Regularly Scheduled – Television
“ABC Weekend News”, Written by Joel Siegel, Karen Mooney and David Muir
News – Analysis, Feature or Commentary – Television
“Yankee Stadium and the New Gilded Age” (“Bill Moyers Journal”), Writers Bill Moyers and Michael Winship
Documentary – Radio
“Black History Month,” written by Anthony J. McHugh
News – Regularly Scheduled or Breaking – Radio
“World News This Week,” written by Marianne J. Pryor
News – Analysis, Feature or Commentary – Radio
“Tributes,” written by Gail Lee
Promotional Writing and Graphic Art Winners , On-Air Promotion – Radio or Television
“Jericho: Two-Minute Drills,” written by Eric Jacobson
Graphic Animation – Television
“Medical Animations” (“CBS Evening News”), David Rosen
Videogame Writing
“Star Wars: The Force Unleashed,” writers Haden Blackman, Shawn Pitman, John Stafford and Cameron Suey

Around The Web