Prophets Of Rage Seethe Against America’s Poverty Crisis In The Furious ‘Living On The 110’ Video

The socially conscious supergroup Prophets of Rage, that’s comprised of members of Rage Against The Machine, Public Enemy and Cypress Hill, unveiled a brand new video today for their single “Living On The 110” taken from their upcoming self-titled album. The new song sheds a much-needed spotlight on the issue of homelessness in America, as well as wage inequality and poverty.

Rapping over a funky riff laid down by guitarist Tom Morello, B-Real comes out hot, putting people in the situation that many in Los Angeles are forced to endure every single day. “Living on the 110 / four sharing one tent.” Chuck D drives the message home even harder later in the track, “There’s no end to poverty stopping me / Or democracy, hypocrisy.” The visual ends with a quote from South African leader Nelson Mandela: “Overcoming poverty is not a gesture of charity. It is an act of justice.”

“The 110 is a freeway in Los Angeles and living beneath it are thousands of homeless people,” Morello said in a statement. “Bentleys and Rolls Royces roaring by are literally driving on top of the poor and their makeshift homes, a picture-perfect analogy for the grotesque economic inequality that plagues our times.”

Prophets Of Rage are planning to drop their self-titled album on September 15th. Check out the full track list from that record below and watch the “Living On The 110” video above.

1. “Radical Eyes”
2. “Unf*ck The World”
3. “Legalize Me”
4. “Living On The 110”
5. “The Counteroffensive”
6. “Hail To The Chief”
7. “Take Me Higher”
8. “Strength In Numbers”
9. “Fired A Shot”
10. “Who Owns Who”
11. “Hands Up”
12. “Smash*t”