Here’s The NFL’s Explanation Of The Calvin Johnson Rule And Why Dez Bryant’s Touchdown Didn’t Count

[protected-iframe id=”d1a2b46c1942daf78a17501a0c508f1a-60970621-10222937″ info=”” width=”650″ height=”352″ frameborder=”0″ scrolling=”no” webkitallowfullscreen=”” mozallowfullscreen=”” allowfullscreen=””]


This herculean effort by Dez Bryant was negated by the Calvin Johnson rule, an outdated and completely idiotic interpretation of what constitutes a catch. It directly led to a Dallas Cowboys loss today to the Green Bay Packers.

Here is the play that started it all.

And here is the wording of the rule.

If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

Dean Blandino, the NFL’s VP of officiating and the man at the center of much controversy this week, talked about the Calvin Johnson rule last year.

“The process of the catch is a three-part process — control, two feet down and then have the ball long enough to perform an act common to the game,” Blandino said. “If you can perform all three parts, in that order, you have a catch. If not, and you’re going to the ground, you must control the ball before you hit the ground.”

And he elaborated today.

*UPDATE: It was deja vu all over again for Gene Steratore, who was also the ref for the original Calvin Johnson rule game. Both a terrible and amazing coincidence.