All The Best New Indie Music From This Week

Indie music has grown to include so much. It’s not just music that is released on independent labels, but speaks to an aesthetic that deviates from the norm and follows its own weirdo heart. It can come in the form of rock music, pop, or folk. In a sense, it says as much about the people that are drawn to it as it does about the people that make it.

Every week, Uproxx is rounding up the best new indie music from the past seven days. This week we got the long-awaited (and very long) new album from The 1975, another preview of Phoebe Bridgers’ sophomore album, and a new live track from the Elliott Smith vault.

While we’re at it, sign up for our newsletter to get the best new indie music delivered directly to your inbox, every Monday.

The best new indie music directly to your inbox.
Sign up for the Indie Mixtape newsletter for weekly recommendations and the latest indie news.
By submitting my information, I agree to receive personalized updates and marketing messages about Indie Mixtape based on my information, interests, activities, website visits and device data and in accordance with the Privacy Policy. I understand that I can opt-out at any time by emailing

The 1975 — Notes On A Conditional Form

The 1975’s fourth album is also their most bloated and self-important to date, according to Steven Hyden for Uproxx. But that doesn’t mean that Notes On A Conditional Form doesn’t feature some absolute bangers. Spanning nearly an hour-and-a-half, there’s something for everyone on latest effort from The 1975. It’s very diverse in its sonic palette, spanning from punk rock to Britpop to confessional indie.

Jeff Rosenstock — No Dream

When there is a catastrophe, Jeff Rosenstock is always there to soundtrack it. After kicking off 2018 with a surprise album POST-, Rosenstock’s latest LP also dropped out of the sky from nowhere. No Dream is “a raucous, guitar-driven affair,” writes Derrick Rossignol for Uproxx, and it features some of Rosenstock’s heaviest songs to date. With not much going on these days, No Dream gives us that onslaught of punk rock energy that will surely up your energy levels to at least make you feel something again.

Owen Pallett — Island

It’s been almost six years since In Conflict, Owen Pallett’s last solo LP. All that changed late last week when Pallett surprise-released Island, a new album recorded with the London Contemporary Orchestra. It’s a uniquely introspective affair, with cinematic flourishes throughout, making it an especially exciting release. .

Phoebe Bridgers — “I See You”

With Phoebe Bridgers’ sophomore album Punisher just a few weeks out, she has shared another preview in the form of “I See You,” a layered and billowing breakup track that is slightly different than other breakup tracks. “It’s about my breakup with my drummer. We dated for a few years, made music every day, and were extremely codependent,” Bridgers wrote in a statement. “We became like family to each other, so our breakup was extremely tough. But if this tells you anything about our relationship, we wrote this song together, just like everything else.”

Elliott Smith — “Big Decision” (Live at Umbra Penumbra)

To celebrate the twenty-fifth anniversary of Elliott Smith’s self-titled album, his label Kill Rock stars is set to release a remastered and expanded version of the album. Included in the expanded version is the entirety of a lost live album featuring the earliest known recording of Smith as a solo artist, captured September 17, 1994 at Portland’s café and “art salon” Umbra Penumbra. “Big Decision” is the first taste of what we can expect from the newly unearthed live album, and it depicts a songwriter at the height of his talents, though he was unknown at the time.

Khruangbin — “So We Won’t Forget”

With the psychedelic Texan trio prepping to release their third album, “So We Won’t Forget” is yet another promising preview of what’s to come, this time focusing on the passing of time and memory. Sonically, the track features “groove, soft percussive elements, and world music influences,” as described by Carolyn Droke for Uproxx.

Idles — “Mr. Motivator”

Idles enters a new era with a video featuring fan-submitted clips of their workout routines. “Mr. Motivator” is a boisterous reminder of why Idles is one of the best punk bands out there right now, a track that “aims to encourage fans to get through these tough times with dance,” according to Carolyn Droke for Uproxx.

Ian Sweet — “Sword”

Nothing embodies summer more than a good dream-pop track. While a proper new album from Ian Sweet is still unannounced, “Sword” marks a new era for Jilian Medford. It’s a jump into a genreless space, anchored by infectious synthesizers and hopping bass.

Eliza Elliott — “Sometimes You Lie”

On her new single, Eliza Elliott dials into the lane that made Clairo so popular. “Sometimes You Lie” is the lead single on Elliott’s new EP, a promising sign of what we can expect from the up-and-coming songwriter’s latest effort.

Some artists covered here are Warner Music artists. Uproxx is an independent subsidiary of Warner Music Group.